About Nothing


doing nothing

Doing nothing can be fun or boring depending upon your outlook and level of creativity. What if you didn’t have to do anything except answer the call of nature and buy groceries? What would you do—or not do.

I think most of us would agree that doing absolutely nothing becomes boring. The real challenge, I feel, lies in staying very busy while actually doing very little of major consequence, especially anything that might cause the slightest bit of pain.

I’m at a point where I need to find something to do that I can tell myself is very important, yet doesn’t require a significant degree of sacrifice. I’m allergic to the word sacrifice in the same way Maynard G. Krebs was allergic to the word work.

I have a couple of major projects on the drawing boards that require the participation of other people. Until they are at liberty to work with me, I’m at loose ends.

This morning, I went into deep meditation with the intent of coming up with, at the very least, a brilliant idea for the blog you are now reading. I came up with nothing, nada, zilch. I wonder how this is possible. It’s not, by a long shot, the first time this has happened. Creative, constructive ideas come easily to some people. They have more ideas than they have time to manifest them. I have plenty of time but no ideas. This seems like an injustice.

I thought that by writing about nothing, a great idea would arise out of the void. Well, the void is still there. Where are you Mister or Miss Great Idea? How about if I settle for a medium idea? Still no?

How about ANY GOD-DAMNED CONSTRUCTIVE IDEA?

I think I’ll go have an iced soy latte.

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Joe Canzano (@happyjoecanzano) on May 28, 2015 - 3:55 pm

    I’ve never had an iced soy latte. I tend to come up with better ideas when I’m drinking beer.

    • #2 by David Gittlin on May 29, 2015 - 1:05 am

      Yeah, Joe. Beer sounds like a better way to get good ideas.

Leave a Reply

